The Essential 38 Houston Restaurants

January 5, 2012

To my two readers out there, I apologize for my extended hiatus!  I haven’t updated in awhile but here I am now with my first post for 2012.

I went through “The Essential 38 Houston Restaurants” for January 2012 from EATER and found that I’ve visited 22 of the 38 listed restaurants (that’s 57.9% for you math junkies).  While I’m not completely convinced that I agree with the list (I prefer Manena’s Pastry Shop and Deli over The Original Marini’s Empanada House!), there are definitely some on the list that I’d like to try and some more that I’ll look into!

Here’s the list (I italicized the ones I have visited and bolded the ones I’d like to check out):

EATER’s The Essential 38 Houston Restaurants

1. Himalaya Restaurant & Catering
2. The Original Marini’s Empanada House
3. Vinoteca Poscol
4. Giacomo’s Cibo E Vino
5. Aladdin Mediterranean
6. Fung’s Kitchen –> dim sum!
7. Vieng Thai
8. Gatlins BBQ & Catering
9. Kenny & Ziggy’s New York Delicatessen –> can’t compare to NY deli’s but close enough?
10. Seoul Garden Restaurant
11. Cafe Pita+
12. Barbecue Inn
13. Xuco Xicana
14. Feast Restaurant –> cool dishes but it’s been hit or miss for me
15. Connie’s Seafood Market & Restaurant
16. Plonk Beer & Wine Bistro
17. Crawfish & Noodles –> Jolynn’s Crawfish rocks my world!!
18. Polonia Restaurant
19. Cafe Rebelais
20. Goode Company Seafood
21. Pho Binh Trailer –> bit of a trek but awesome pho
22. Sylvia’s Enchilada Kitchen
23. Cajun Town Cafe
24. Bombay Pizza Co.
25. The Queen Vic Pub & Kitchen
26. Rioja Spanish Tapas
27. Bubba’s Texas Burger Shack
28. Hubcap Grill
29. Pondicheri
30. The Origina Ninfa’s on Navigation –> chicken fajitas!
31. Beaver’s
32. Kata Robata Sushi & Grill –> my fav but Uchi is opening soon…
33. Huynh Restaurant
34. Shanghai Chinese Restaurant
35. La Guadalupana Bakery –> great hole-in-the-wall breakfast place
36. Happy Fatz
37. Stella Sola –> eh, not that memorable
38. Benjy’s On Washington

In fact, I’m going to Bombay Pizza Company next week!  Any thoughts on the list??

3 Responses to “The Essential 38 Houston Restaurants”

  1. Linda Says:

    Mmm. Now I want Houston food. Tried Happy Fatz recently. Yum!

  2. Jenny Says:

    Try the best Houston Mexican Restaurant, Paco Joe’s Grill & Cantina. Great place to eat and party.


Leave a Reply

