Jeannine’s Bistro

May 10, 2011

January 18, 2011 |  This place was on my list of restaurants to try before I moved out of Midtown.  As luck would have it, there was a restaurant.com coupon so my friend and I decided to go to Jeannine’s Bistro one Tuesday night to try out the Belgian mussels.  The waiter told us about one of the mussel dishes not on the menu yet– moules congolaise, made with lemon juice, tomatoes, coconut milk, chipotle, onions, and garlic ($12 for a small).  We ordered that one as well as a small moules gratin ($11), which is made with Parmesan cheese.

Since the mussels would take some time to prepare, we ordered a salade nicoise ($13) to start.  I’m not a huge salad person but my friend told me it was good and we were hungry.  The salad came out shortly, made with tuna, lettuce, potatoes, green beans, olives, boiled eggs and tomato with vinaigrette dressing.  My friend and I shared the huge salad and I actually enjoyed it a lot!  I also ordered a Duvel ($8.25) to drink.

I was so excited to try the mussels and they did not disappoint.  The mussels were delicious!!  We cleaned out the leftover cheesy sauce from the moules gratin with the complimentary bread.  The broth-like sauce from the moules congolaise was yummy enough to sip on by itself!  We couldn’t resist ordering a dessert and went with our waiter’s suggestion of crepes normande ($10)– an apple crepe that had a perfectly caramelized top and served with a scoop of vanilla icecream.  It was amazing!

The service at Jeannine’s Bistro was top notch and our meal was awesome.  After using our $25 http://restaurant.com coupon, our bill came out to be around $44, including 18% gratuity (automatically added as one of the conditions of the coupon).  It’s not the cheapest meal in town but the food was worth it!

Jeannine’s Bistro
106 Westheimer Rd, Ste E
Houston, TX 77006
(713) 874-0220

Leave a Reply

