Neptune Oyster

June 2, 2010

August 1, 2009 | After a loooong walk, I arrived at Neptune Oyster (yelp), located in the North End, not too far from Giacomo’s.

I had intended on ordering the lobster roll and perhaps a small cup of chowder, but it was just way too hot.  Instead, I ordered a variety of local oysters.

The oysters were yummy!  I was surprised to see one of the sauces that came out– I’ve only ever had it with cocktail sauce, lemon, horseradish, and a dash of Tabasco sauce!  I did some googleing and I believe it was a classic mignonette sauce.  I can’t recall if I tried it or not.  After finishing the oysters, I ordered a blue fin tartar.

Mm, this was really good.  Very light.  Ordinarily, this probably wouldn’t have been enough for lunch, but it was just so damn hot outside that my appetite wasn’t like it usually is.   One day, I’ll go back and try the chowder and lobster roll!

2 Responses to “Neptune Oyster”

  1. JJ Says:

    Yep, mignonette. You usually get both on the East Coast… first time I had it actually was on the west, though, in SF at Hog Island.

    Something on that menu caught my eye…blue marlin crudo from Costa Rica?? Sounds good… but talk about “one of these things is not like the others” 🙂

  2. Jackie Ewing Says:

    You have an interesting blog here! I’m not sure if you have a lot more healthy recipes of your own that you make, but if you do, you should send them into this contest I know of that’s making its way around the country, the Aetna Healthy Food Fight. It’s coming to San Antonio on October 2-3 and Houston on October 9-10! I noticed your recipe and thought you would be interested. You could get great exposure for your recipes and meet celebrity cooks (Bobby Flay, Sunny Anderson, Sara Moulton, or Cat Cora). All you have to do is go to healthyfoodfight.com to submit one of your healthy recipes. Deadline to sign up for San Antonio is September 15th and Houston is September 22nd so hurry! Good luck if you decide to enter, and if not, keep posting! 🙂


Leave a Reply

